Earth Day WEEK

a-rain-lily2

In the past, I haven’t been one to read into things. Something weird might happen, and I’d be more likely to shrug it off than take it in. With my practice of yoga, this isn’t so much the case. I don’t attempt to create a spiritual story from things that happen, but if something strikes me, I don’t disregard it either. I’m willing or maybe just able to notice the little flutters of curiosity, beauty, fear or significance that come with an experience. And this earth day week, there were a lot of ‘em.

On Friday, Nora, Hazel and I drove home from a birthday party blitz. It was dark. When I turned to pull into the garage, the headlights shined on a baby rattlesnake right there in the middle of the driveway. I know the diamond head by the black and white stripes on the tail. I didn’t want to kill it but I didn’t want it to take up residence in our yard so I called my neighbor over, hoping he would move it to the greenbelt sort-of near our house. But he wasn’t into that. The snake ended up being a meal for some lucky vulture.

On Saturday, we had one of the most beautiful days of the Spring. It was also the day I did my first ever sage energy clearing. The girls and I spent the morning cleaning the house. When we finally felt ready and with all the doors, windows, drawers and cabinets wide open, we set the dried leaves on fire, let the flames quite to a smolder and then we walked around the house waving the smoking bundle at all the corners, around doorways and into each of the open cabinets.

That night, the girls and I finished a movie and seconds later this huge wind started blowing. It seemed to come out of nowhere. We listened to the leaves and the big clacking sounds of the crepe myrtle limbs knocking together, then it started to rain…horizontally. The rain quickly changed to hail. It was small at first and then the ice got bigger and bigger until it was the size of a quarter. It broke stuff on the roof and busted up the plants and knocked half of the leaves off the oak trees. It was over in ten minutes and it was the most intense hail storm I’ve ever seen.

On Monday, the beautiful weather returned and rain lilies bloomed across the neighborhood. These flowers only bloom after it rains. These tiny white flowers are perfectly white, delicate, and they only last a day.

I can see that I need less explanation for the weird things that happen. But the cool thing is, I can notice if there is something there for me. What happens in me when I see a snake or witness a crazy storm or create a ceremony for the space I live in? I haven’t done any storytelling around these events to create any special meaning. Maybe that will come, maybe not. What I do know is that these things leave an impression that stays with me and my life is more interesting when I’m present to notice it.

Leave a Reply

