Mundane vs. Miraculous; The Battle Continues

Hazel as a little baby.  Talk about miracles...
Hazel as a little baby. Parenting a little baby is the ultimate experience of mundane-ity and miracle-ity all in one adorable little package…

I have a yoga practice that I do just about every morning. It involves some chanting, movement, breathing, meditation and prayer. It’s the same practice at the same time and in the same place every day. It’s worth doing. My personal practice is the vital and foundational way I connect to myself, to others, and to God.

I practice in the early morning when lights are out and the house is quiet. It’s a special time of day. When I’m connected and really present, each breath can feel like a little miracle — like a conversation with something divine. It brings such sweetness to the day and reminds me of how I want to be.

It’s not always like this, though.  This morning, for example, I caught myself going through the motions like some yoga-automaton. I was half way through my second āsana when I realized I’d been reviewing client appointments and thinking about emails that I hadn’t responded to. I’m not waking up at 5:15 am to think about emails. I brought my attention back to my practice then my mouth watered at the thought of the cup of tea I’d make for myself. I wondered what the weather was like outside and if I could go on a walk. I remembered that the library books are overdue. I kept going through the motions, but I wasn’t really there. My thoughts were somewhere disappointingly mundane. There was no little miracle feeling. There was no particular connection to myself and no awareness of God.

And it occurred to me that this may be my primary work right now– moving toward this special connected feeling and being there more and more of the time. If one end of the spectrum looks like going through the motions, (not just in my yoga practice but in teaching, parenting, being a friend) with my mind and my attention somewhere else, then the other end of the spectrum is this present, aware, connected place in which every moment is a blessing and miracle. This is where I want to be.

amanda green yogaExciting News from AGY!

Next week (for reals), www.amandagreenyoga.com will be home to my updated website AND blog. Please know, we’ll be testing the site to make sure subscribers continue to receive emailed weekly blog posts. You might get extra inspiration from me this week as we work toward the unveiling…

And, of course, if you do not receive your regular Thursday blog post in your inbox, don’t be shy… Re-subscribe! (or check your junk mail).

2 thoughts on “Mundane vs. Miraculous; The Battle Continues

  1. I so identify with this…some days just don’t work so well! But there’s a huge effect from continuing to practice daily without judging the good and the bad….
    Good luck with the new website. I’d your WordPress blog embedded in your website or is it totally new? Just wondering as this is something I need to do at some point. Alison x

Leave a Reply

